Skip links and keyboard navigation

Our history

The Legal Services Commission commenced operations as an independent statutory body on 1 July 2004 with the commencement of the Legal Profession Act 2004. Since that time the Commission has witnessed great change and has developed into an effective regulator of the provision of legal services in Queensland.

On this page we provide links and documents relevant to the Commission's history and operations.

The Commission

-Organisation chart (PDF, 22.8 KB)

-Key Documents


-Legal Profession Act 2007(Explanatory Notes;Hansard)
-Australian Solicitors Conduct Rules 2012
-Barrister's Conduct Rules 2018

-Legal Profession Act 2004(Explanatory Notes;Hansard)
- Legal Profession (Solicitors) Rule 2007 (PDF, 341.4 KB)-2007 Barristers Rule

Disciplinary Bodies

- Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal (QCAT)
- Legal Practice Committee (LPC)
Decisions from QCAT and LPC are located on the website under the Disciplinary decisions section. Where the practitioner has a finding of professional misconduct, certain details as required to be noted under the Act are included on the Discipline Register.

- Solicitors Complaints Tribunal
- Legal Practice Tribunal (decisions)- amalgamated into QCAT in Dec 2009

Last reviewed
14 June 2018
Last updated
14 June 2018

Rate this page

  1. How useful was the information on this page?